Stupid Question RE: P Series carb Rebuild

Need help? Want to help? Discuss technical issues and share tips.
epsato

Stupid Question RE: P Series carb Rebuild

Postby epsato » Mon Oct 01, 2012 1:15 pm

Got an Autolube carb I'm rebuilding...it's my first time rebuilding a P series Carb.

When reconnecting everything, the throttle cable goes THROUGH the Oil injector arm and then hooks onto the throttle slide hook, yes? I was all worried as the oil thingee has no spring, but it hit me that the throttle cable hooks up to the slide directly (nice big "duh" on that one). I'm pretty sure this is the set up, but figured it was better to ask ahead of time.

Also, I just took off the engine to install a new SITO+ exhaust (which it desperately needed, the old one was cracked where it meets the cylinder). While installing the new sito+, the cylinder shroud (it's a tube that connects to the exhaust) could spin as I attached the exhaust. Is this a bad thing? Can it mess with performance?

I'm worried the shroud will go into the cylinder. Normally the shroud's part of the cylinder and doesn't move, right?

normratscoots

Re: Stupid Question RE: P Series carb Rebuild

Postby normratscoots » Mon Oct 01, 2012 1:36 pm

A little confused with your question; the shroud doesn't need to be removed to change exhausts. The term applies to the large plastic bonnet the encases the cylinder and head. Are we talking about the same thing?

See this, for context: http://vespamaintenance.com/engine/decoke/index.html
Its a long walk through the city in the rain, its a long walk from train to train.

epsato

Postby epsato » Mon Oct 01, 2012 1:45 pm

Not the plastic shroud that goes over the cylinder. It's a little tube that connects to the exhaust from the cylinder.

The thing the exhaust clamps onto, what's that called? Anyway, mine seemed loose.

epsato

Postby epsato » Mon Oct 01, 2012 1:48 pm